Slice of life– mindset in the classroom

Standard

Many times the small incidental mentions lead to really big ideas.

Accidents or coincidence?- Do you ever feel like you are in the library at Hogworts where books just slide off the shelves for you. This has been happening to me a lot lately. Four years ago it was Daily 5, Notebook Connections and Readers Workshop. This carried into Teach Like a Pirate and Daily Cafe. Last summer I read about higher order thinking skills, writers classroom, writers notebook, and the Starbucks Experience. Not to provide the wide list of books that I have recently read, it’s more about how the books are mentioned then out of no where become HUGE pieces of my life’s puzzle for learning. Lately it has been Teach Like A Pirate. This book vaulted me to take a look at how our district was teaching professional development on the half days. During one session in particular I looked around and asked myself, “Would you buy a ticket to this professional development?” Suddenly the books ideals came screaming to me. I began a simple conversation with a teacher and suddenly we were working together on planning the next professional development. We wanted to build an experience. Create something people looked forward to. Incredibly money was even offered to the quasi professional development team and the response was as though it was scripted by Dave Burgess himself. “Nahhh, this is fun and if I get paid then it becomes more like a job. This way I can be more passionate. That’s the Pirate mentality.

Just recently I received an email from Mrs. Drouin letting me know about a couple of books she was interested in reading. One of them was titled, Mindsets in the Classroom. I figured I would order it at the end of the month for her to read. Then not even a day later on my amazon.com account there was the book In my recommendations. My interest peeked, but I thought merely coincidence. Then one of my quasi professional development partners said we should read a book as a PLC. I asked her about her interests and suddenly out popped the topic for the book again. And as, I begin reading the first few chapters all ready I have learned so much.

Accident or coincidence….I wonder if the books choose you

3 thoughts on “Slice of life– mindset in the classroom

  1. You had me on this post with the Starbucks Experience. As a recovering SBUX junkie (and leadership junkie too), I’ve read all their books, and others written by researchers on what makes this company work. I would encourage you also to check out Malcolm Gladwell’s offerings — Tipping Point is particularly powerful and will answer your question, “How do ideas get to the point where they become mainstream?”, which I’m sure as a school administrator, you ask yourself all the time :). I think book selection is a two-way street, like you suggest. Recommendations, interests, responsibilities, and inquiry co-conspire to bring you to the right book at the right time! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

