Paragraph of the week 1 Labor Day

Standard

If you were to ask any if my former students about me they would most likely talk about the grueling constant writing we did throughout the year culminating with the 40 day challenge. Now that I’m a principal I thought why not give it a go and see if I can help in the writing process.

My topic this week is Labor Day. According to reading/ writing expert Donald Graves you always start writing by having students develop lists. After they have developed the list, students look over and identify common ideas. Those common ideas are the starting point for writing.

1. Develop a list of words associated with Labor Day. You have 2 minutes….
My list looks like this… Cookouts, teacher, paver, waves , family, swimming, students (I write down any word that comes into my head), pizza, laughing, lake George, boats, islands, diving under water, ,.. (Ideas)

2. Now look over your list and see your common topics. ( on my list I would cross off…paver, pizza.. (Ideas)

3. Ask yourself does one word stand out that matches the topic Labor Day? .. For me it’s teacher.

4. Writing a topic ( grabber, hook) sentence : who i am writing this for, will grab people to want to know what I’m writing about , but also get them to want to read more? … (Audience)
.. Lets give it a try… I love traveling to Lake George, but Labor Day weekend is a weekend I look forward to every year. ( Hmm wordy?). Can you help me fix it?.

Send me your Samples… Hurry I need to get rid of my writers block!!!! Can you help Mr. Leander in time or will he have to use that very wordy sentence??? Time is running out…

Leave a Reply

